Secluded cabin close to downtown Asheville

We enjoyed a weekend family reunion in this well appointed cabin retreat. Open floor plan and large deck were perfect for family BBQs, meals, and gatherings. The hot tub is a plus as well. Less than twenty minutes to downtown Asheville and all the city has to offer. We hope to visit again soon.

Date of Stay: Feb 9, 2018

Perfect cabin in the woods!

I rented the cabin for my sister’s bachelorette party. We comfortably slept 10 adults in the cabin and enjoyed the open floor plan while making meals and chatting in the kitchen and living room. The cabin is so cozy and has everything you need for a weekend away. The hot tub was amazing for resting our muscles after the long travel and day hiking. This house is close enough to DT Asheville (and Uber’s/Lyfts are easy to catch!) and far enough away to feel like you’re really one with nature. Rebecca was a great host – we’ll be back!

Date of Arrival: March 29, 2018

Very nice place with a lot of charm

Guest: Asheville Bound (Macungie, PA)
Date of Stay: Nov 6, 2013
Date of Review: Nov 12, 2013
Review: My family of 8 stayed at the Bear’s Den Mountain Cabin for a few days this November for an early Thanksgiving celebration and we couldn’t have been happier with the place.

The kitchen was very nice and roomy, with newer appliances and plenty of counter space for our cooking. The big round table was perfect for our big meal, and there were enough chairs for the eight of us around the table. The high-speed wireless internet was great to have too! It was very clean and warm. The bedrooms are all very nice and cozy. The whole place oozes with charm.

The driveway is steep, but there was no ice or snow, so we had no problem traversing it in our front-wheel drive rental cars. If the weather’s very cold or snowy, you can rest assured that you *will* need four-wheel drive to get to the cabin– Rebecca’s not joking when she tells you that!

Overall, we all loved the place and we were sad to leave. If our travels bring us back to the area, we will definitely be coming back for more!

Asheville Bound (Macungie, PA)

Wonderful Home

Guest: Gigi (Ann Arbor, Michigan)
Date of Stay: Jul 31, 2013
Date of Review: Sep 5, 2013
Review: This home was exactly as described and better than the pictures. 11 of us stayed for 5 days and were very comfortable. The deck was just beautiful and felt so private. You did not need to bring anything except groceries. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms lovely. I definitely will stay here again. The drive to Asheville was a breeze as was the drive to the Biltmore. You felt as though you were far out and up in the mountains but it took no time at all to get where you wanted to go. Mostly, we loved the place so much that we just stayed put. Lovely, lovely home.

Gigi (Ann Arbor, Michigan)

Warm inviting home

Guest: Heidi M.
Date of Stay: Oct 22, 2013
Date of Review: Oct 29, 2013
Review: We were really pleased with our stay at this home. It is warm and inviting. The owners have decorated it with lots of quality furnishings. And added some humor as well. The king bed was super comfortable. Everything was very clean. It is located in a really convenient place to explore the area, Very easy to get to and from Asheville. Food Lion just minutes away. It is tucked into lots of trees on a hillside, so there is a lot of privacy. Quiet too. Hot tub, wood-burning fireplace, and garage are great to have. If we are back in this area, we will be sure to see if it is available. And bring family and friends to enjoy. It is a house to be shared. Thank you very much Rebecca!

Heidi M.

Love This Place!

Guest: Jim from MI
Date of Stay: Nov 24, 2013
Date of Review: Dec 1, 2013
Review: My wife, our two sons and I just returned from a stay at this log cabin, and we had a great time. The location is perfect, on a wooded piece of property only a short drive off the main road. The house had everything that we needed to relax and enjoy the vacation. We did some cooking, and the kitchen was perfect, and then we just hung out, and enjoyed the quite and family time together.

We were close enough to the downtown area of Asheville to take full advantage, but we loved the place so much that we just stayed put. We would love to return soon.

Jim from MI

Fantastic Location!

Guest: Vacationers! (Ashland City, TN)
Date of Stay: May 25, 2013
Date of Review: Jun 4, 2013
Review: My husband and I traveled with our 5 month old to this cabin and we were Very Happy with our time there. Everything was very clean and we were adequately accommodated. The location is right next to anything you need or want to do. The owner (Rebecca) is so nice to work with and she will make sure everything is to your standards. She also responds to any questions or comments immediately. I appreciate that very much. This is a cabin we will definitely be returning to soon.

Vacationers! (Ashland City, TN)

Great cabin!

Guest: Jess (Durham, NC)
Date of Stay: Jun 20, 2013
Date of Review: Jun 28, 2013
Review: My husband & I recently traveled to Asheville with our 2 dogs. This cabin was perfect for us! It was very clean and in a great location. We were close to everything yet we were still secluded in the woods. The yard was nice for the dogs. The cabin was a good size for just the 2 of us but there is plenty of room if traveling with friends. We will definitely stay there again!

Jess (Durham, NC)

Great Vacation Spot

Guest: John (Wheaton IL)
Date of Stay: Oct 10, 2013
Date of Review: Oct 21, 2013
Review: We stayed at Blue Wolf mountain cabin with another couple for four days to attend a wedding in Ashville, and enjoy the area sights. The property was everything it was promised to be. Very comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly come back for another visit in the future.

John (Wheaton IL)

Cozy, Rustic and just plain AWESOME!!

Guest: Heather W. (Tallahassee, Florida)
Date of Stay: Dec 28, 2013
Date of Review: Jan 3, 2014
Review: This cabin is definitely one of a kind and perfect for a getaway! We enjoyed the location of being close to Asheville but within driving distance of the Smokey Mountain National Park and other hiking destinations. This place is truly a gem for any couple or small family. We will definitely be back!! Rental of the cabin was completely flawless and our planning is usually short notice so we applaud the owner for being on the ball! This was a great vacation spot!

Heather W. (Tallahassee, Florida)

Cabin near Asheville

Guest: Barb from Cincinnati (OH)
Date of Stay: Sep 25, 2013
Date of Review: Oct 15, 2013
Review: My husband and I finished up a 2-week vacation by staying at this cabin. It is decorated very nicely. All the furnishings make for an authentic feel to the cabin, while all the appliances/fixtures are new. The cabin has a lovely side deck looking toward the trees in the back yard where we enjoyed coffee in the mornings, and cocktails in the evening. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. We really appreciated the cabins close proximately to downtown Asheville. It was so easy getting to dinner (like Asheville Brewery-best pizza) and our favorite “Jack of the Woods”, for their live entertainment.

Barb from Cincinnati (OH)

Such a Great Stay

Guest: JR12 (Atlanta, GA)
Date of Stay: Oct 22, 2013
Date of Review: Oct 29, 2013
Review: We loved everything about this cabin, from it’s great location to both the Parkway and Downtown Asheville to the fireplace to the cozy feel it had. We were able to get away from our busy lives and come to the mountains for a peaceful and relaxing retreat. I would highly recommend this cabin to any of our friends and family and can’t wait to return!

JR12 (Atlanta, GA)

Romantic Cabin

Guest: Newlyweds (Louisville, KY)
Date of Stay: Nov 20, 2013
Date of Review: Nov 27, 2013
Review: We were happily impressed with this cabin. Very spacious, clean and so charming! We loved everything about it especially the fireplace, comfy beautiful bed and hot tub. The owner was pleasant to work with and made everything very easy to arrange. We enjoyed the convenient access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and downtown. We will definitely return!

Newlyweds (Louisville, KY)

Great place to get away

Tim C. said…
We loved our time here and met our needs. We got away to celebrate 5000 days of marriage. Was a fun and relaxing time. Grill and hot tub were nice. Loved the cabin feel and personal touches. Rebecca was super helpful in making recommendations in the area. The kitchen pots/pans/etc were adequate. But, this house is very close to one neighbor however there is a very tall fence that gives privacy. Other than that, we really enjoyed our time staying here.

Date of Stay:  Feb 22, 2018

We loved everything about this cabin!

Sheila G. said…
This Cabin  was exactly as described and even better than the pictures. We stayed for 3 days and loved the experience. The deck was beautiful and so so private. Morning coffee was a Delight. All we supplied was a toothbrush and  groceries. Everything else was supplied by Owner. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms immaculate. Great walking and biking at your fingertips. 
We loved everything about this cabin, from it’s great location to Downtown Asheville to the fireplace to the cozy feel it had. We were able to get away from traffic, noise and our busy lifestyle and just completely relax. I would highly recommend this cabin to any of our friends and family and can’t wait to return!
Date of Stay: Aug 15, 2018

Stepping back in time!!

Wanda P. said…

My husband and I came this weekend to visit the Biltmore Estate and found this gem for our weekend stay. I felt like I was stepping back in time with this quaint log cabin. Each room is uniquely and beautifully decorated .It has everything you need for your stay. Rebecca and her family went above and beyond to help us with any concerns we had. The hot tub was wonderful on a cold night . It is convenient to Asheville and other tourist places you may want to visit. Would love to bring my whole family back to visit.
Date of Stay: Feb. 8, 2018 

I love this place!

Sherri S said..
We had such a lovely stay. The cabin is beautiful and well-maintained, and the location is perfect. Plenty of room for the whole family. The kids really enjoyed the campfires at night.

North Carolina at its Best!

Linda A. said…

My family with adult children had a wonderful stay at the side by side cabins in Gerton. There was amble space for all within the charming rooms and the decks offered lovely views. A hot tub was a real bonus. The kitchens were well stocked with equipment and dishes for us to do some cooking for family style dining. Nearby, Bearwallow Mountain and Trombatore Trails offered great hikes for clear vistas of the area. The reason I chose the title for my review is because I think a vacation in North Carolina is best when accommodations are comfortable and in a place of peaceful natural beauty.

Date of Stay: Jun 7, 2018

We loved it!!!

Paige W. said…
We loved our visit to this awesome cabin. We definitely would go again! We had an awesome mother/daughter weekend. The cabin is in a great location off the beaten path. It takes 30 mins to go almost anywhere from downtown Asheville to Biltmore. The cabin is cozy, clean and decorated excellently. The house had everything we needed. The hot tub was a nice touch! Being able to bring our Piper girl (dog) was great! She loved to walk around the neighborhood and to the small lake/dam. I highly recommend this place.

Date of Stay:  Apr 17, 2018

Perfect place for a girls weekend getaway!

Jackie R. said…
Chestnut Hill was the perfect place for a long Girls weekend getaway! The hot tub was amazing! The cabin was an easy 30 minute ride into Asheville and it even snowed!! We had an excellent time! Highly recommended!!
Date of Stay; Jan 11, 2018

Fantastic Romantic Getaway

Beth J. said…
Date of Stay; Apr 20, 2016
The cabin is fantastic! My husband and I took a long weekend getaway and we can’t wait to go back. The hot tub is perfect for two and has a beautiful view. The cabin is the perfect size. The internet and TV worked perfectly. The kitchen has all of the necessities and the grill on the porch means that you can cook and stay in all weekend. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. It is a beautiful 1920s cabin that has been upgraded in all the best ways. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. The driveway is steep and gravel so you will need 4WD in the winter. We went in April and were fine in my small SUV. It is perfectly located between the Biltmore and Lake Lure so we were able to do both that weekend. There are also several wineries close by. The grocery store is only 10 minutes away and the cabin is easy to locate. We would recommend it to anyone!

Cute cozy little cabin

Great time!

Roger M. said…
Date of Stay; Dec 13, 2017
Great time celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary in this beautiful 100 year old cabin. The owner, Rebecca, was very kind and accommodating. We appreciate everything she did to make our stay wonderful.

Appreciate the 4wd recommendation, we needed it!

Chris B. said…
Date of Stay; Dec 24, 2017
Clean, comfortable, and very quaint and cute! Nice shower, loved the stone work.

Wonderful property

Shannon R. said…
We had a great time in North Carolina. The cabin was perfect with great amenities. The location worked well for all our hiking, kayaking, and sightseeing needs. The area has beautiful Mountain Views as well as a lake, winery, and brewery within a short 15 minute drive. We were very comfortable in the cabin and would highly recommend it.
Date of arrival: June 18, 2018

Absolute Gem in the Mountains!

Kara D. said…

What a gem! This cabin is absolutely adorable and well maintained. We enjoyed the waterfall (sounds & playing in it), relaxing in the hot tub, grilling our dinners, and playing with our dog in the open field areas. We are “cabin snobs”, as in we have stayed at the majority of the cabins in the Bat Cave/Chimney Rock area because we frequent the area several times a year. And I must say, THIS one is my new favorite for our family trips. It has everything we possibly needed and then some. We cannot wait to return, hopefully for even longer this time!

Date of Stay: Aug 5, 2017

Thanksgiving Vacation

Nancy B. said…

We had a great time at Slick Rock Falls. House was clean and had most all the amenities that we needed. We were four adults and this house accommodated our needs perfectly. The beds were comfortable, our showers were hot, the fire place was cozy and not only was the Creek beautiful to look at but the sound was very tranquil. We enjoyed sitting by the fire outside next to the creek and after our long hikes, we enjoyed the hot tub as well. For your food shopping, the grocery store was only about 5 miles from the house. We hiked the trails to the chimney rock Falls, we shopped and ate at the strip of shops right in town. If you love apples, there are plenty to be had here. If you’re looking for a clean relaxing place to stay, I would recommend Slick Rock Falls Lodge.

Date of Stay: Nov 18, 2017

Wonderful!

Ronald P. said…

We ( 4 adults) enjoyed the atmosphere of this cabin. Open the front door…and you’ll think it;s raining, nope just the peaceful sound of the streams waterfall. Stream within 20 feet of cabin, very beautiful! Nice covered, and uncovered exterior decks. Up to date kitchen, with everything you could possible need. Living room with fire place very nice. Hardwood floor throughout. Bedrooms, very nice. Bathrooms very clean. Plenty of towels. Asheville was 35 minutes, Hendersonville 20 minutes, Lake Lure 15 minutes. Chimney Rock Park 15 minutes. We are already talking about going back.

Date of Stay: Nov 9, 2017

Quaint Lodge Ideal for Relaxing Getaway

Christina F. said…
Exactly as described, this picturesque and quaint home is situated next to a peaceful waterfall and is ideal for a relaxing getaway. My husband and I, and our fur-baby Brinkley, spent each night grilling on the porch, unwinding in the hottub, and making smores by the fire pit. During the day, we hiked to several waterfalls and visited some of the apple orchards closeby. The home is as lovely as I had hoped, and was everything we needed for a peaceful weekend away.

Date of Stay: Aug 23, 2017

Fantastic vacation, lovely home, perfect location

Laurie R. said…
Met up with truly wonderful friends for a week of motorcycle riding in the beautiful countryside surrounding this cabin. It was in the perfect location with plenty of room for our vehicles/trailers. Others mentioned mosquitoes which could have been a problem by the fire pit. It didn’t present a problem for us because we chose to spend our evenings relaxing on the spacious deck that wraps around the house. I was very concerned and almost didn’t pick this rental due to the comments about the busy road. We didn’t find it that busy, had no trouble with noise or getting out of the driveway. The only slightly negative comment we would have is the new hot tub is for 2 people. However, this didn’t affect our stay.

Date of Stay: July 28, 2017

WOW it was perfect! Kid friendly too!

Monte P. said…
We absolutely loved our stay at Magic Mountain Lodge! We were 6 adults, 3 toddlers, and a baby. Usually when we rent places they aren’t very kid friendly and we spend half our first day childproofing to the best of our ability. At Magic Mountain hardly any was required. The cabin was so open and spacious with lots of modern touches we weren’t expecting. With the remnants of a Hurricane passing through it poured all weekend, and even though we weren’t able to BBQ or hot tub we still loved our time here. With so much space we were OK being couped up inside. Spacious kitchen, great room, and basement all worked out great for us. Rebecca was prompt to answer all our questions and had clear directions and instructions for everything we could think of. Next time we are in Asheville I can’t imagine staying anywhere else. Thanks, Rebecca!!!!

Date of Stay: Sep 30, 2017

Nice mountain cabin, excellent for groups

Leo P. said…
Very nice cabin, convenient to Asheville. Rebecca, the owner, was very helpful and responsive to questions. Clean, nicely furnished house with a large great room/kitchen area perfect for a good sized group to cook, talk, eat and have fun. The great room has a wood fired stove and there was a large stack of seasoned firewood available. Dog friendly, there is a decent sized crate in the basement and food and water bowls provided. The large basement also has exercise equipment, an indoor basketball hoop and ping pong table. The hot tub was very clean, plenty of towels and other linens provided (including robes, very much appreciated coming out of the hot tub in late Feb!). Nice property, isolated, but not *too* isolated, wooded, good for walks. Overall, a great rental, especially if you have a group that wants to spend time together. Would absolutely consider renting again.

Date of Stay: Feb 25, 2017

Wonderful Fall Weekend

Charmaine P. said…
My husband and I treated our children and their families to a weekend getaway in the mountains at this cabin. It was perfect for the 10 of us. Plenty of beds and space for the adults and 4 small children to play. The game room downstairs was a perfect place for the children to expend their extra energy. The location was so quiet and peaceful, yet close enough to Asheville for us to take advantage of Fall festivals. Well-stocked kitchen! Clean! Wish we could have stayed longer! Hope to return another time!

Date of Stay: Oct 20, 2017

Perfect for a mountain get away and vacation!

Beverly F. said…

We gathered with our grown children, their spouses and our two grandsons to celebrate summer birthdays. We had a wonderful time! The house was perfect for our group and the kids especially enjoyed the rec room downstairs. Our chef son-in-law thoroughly enjoyed the large kitchen and the gas grill. We were easily able to access tubing, trout fishing, and gem mining for the boys while still maintaining a sense of privacy and peace in the beautiful mountains. Butterflies greeted me each morning as I sat on the porch welcoming the morning. All in all – it was the perfect getaway!

Date of Stay: Jul 10, 2017

This property was BEAUTIFUL!!!!

Kelsey S. said…
This was a BEAUTIFUL home that fit 14 of us!! Magic mountain was the perfect place for a bunch of friends from college to reunite for a weekend cabin retreat. We were worried about space as there were a lot of us, but the house was very spacious and homey. The hot tub was perfect to sit out and relax on a cold night and the basement game room downstairs was perfect to keep us busy throughout the day. We spent most of the weekend in the cabin just spending time with each other and playing games, but it was only about a 25/30 minute drive to downtown Asheville. This was such a wonderful weekend and we’ll most definitely stay here again if we come back to Asheville!!

Date of Stay: Jan 4, 2018